Community Connection: Ovarian Cancer Canada is looking for volunteers! Could you help?

OVdialogue – consider joining our team in the role of Peer Support Volunteer. Over a few hours each week, you would be part of a team that helps connect people, support conversations and are thought leaders for OVdialogue. This is your opportunity to give back to those who have/continue to support you through the tough times, share your unique experiences, and help celebrate successes. For more details of what this entails, please reach out to @Mfallis (mfallis@ovariancanada.org).

Better diagnosing of ovarian and peritoneal cancer

I am an active 65 years old, mother, grandmother and wife.  My parents and grandparents all lived long long lives.  Cancer took me completely my surprise.  Last year 2019 I went to my Dr about loosing too much weight and a change of bowel habits while on a diet.  I am an old nurse and while the weight loss did surprise me, who complains about losing weight.  Being healthy and very active cycling, swimming as well taking care of my grandchildren a couple of times a week, why would I suspect anything was wrong.  However this year 2020, I developed abdominal pain. Covid made testing just about impossible and long waits for imaging.  I was a good advocate for myself.  I phoned my GP regularly updating on my declining condition to her.  On my last call to her, I told her everyday my prognosis was getting worse.  I ask if there was any blood tests for cancer  When my CA125 came back elevated, I connected all the dots and knew that all my symptoms were ovarian cancer.  My Gp sent me to the local ER for imaging with the results being ascites and bulky ovaries for my age.  The ER Dr read the report to the gynecologist.  I never warranted a visit or examine from the gynecologist.  It was determined that these results were  normal and that i was fine with no ovarian tumour or anything "sinister" happening.  After a lengthy discussion / argument with the Dr about