Community Connection: Ovarian Cancer Canada is looking for volunteers! Could you help?

OVdialogue – consider joining our team in the role of Peer Support Volunteer. Over a few hours each week, you would be part of a team that helps connect people, support conversations and are thought leaders for OVdialogue. This is your opportunity to give back to those who have/continue to support you through the tough times, share your unique experiences, and help celebrate successes. For more details of what this entails, please reach out to @Mfallis (mfallis@ovariancanada.org).

ca125 numbers

Hi I am new to this. 5 years ago I was diagnosed wit stage 3c metastatic high grade carcinoma with features of serous carcinoma.After 2 sugarys and 8 rounds of chemo I am doing ok.my last check up showed my ca125 was 10 which is the highest it’s been since I finished treatment, the one before that was 7, I am very nervous about this but my doctors say it’s ok and not to worry,just wondering if anyone has had a similar experience.

Comments

• Hello @Tara - welcome to the site. Thank you for sharing your story and glad to hear you are doing ok after those surgeries and chemo. 
    Worry in general (and about the numbers) is something many of us struggle with from time to time. Hope you will find lots of support here around the topics.
    I found it helpful by asking lots of questions of my health care team and reviewing the By Your Side resource.
    Depending on your condition and your health care team, sometimes those numbers are only one part of the assessment tools. Do you have an outline on how the health team is monitoring you?

• Thank you @Flowergirl for you kind words. I see my gynacogal  oncologist every 6 months, she does an internal exam and checks my ca125 and that’s all I haven’t had a ct scan in 5 years as she states there is no need for it.