Community Connection: Ovarian Cancer Canada is looking for volunteers! Could you help?

OVdialogue – consider joining our team in the role of Community Champion. Over a few hours each week, you would be part of a team that helps connect people, support conversations and are thought leaders for OVdialogue. This is your opportunity to give back to those who have/continue to support you through the tough times, share your unique experiences, and help celebrate successes. For more details of what this entails, please reach out to @Mfallis (mfallis@ovariancanada.org).
Ovarian Cancer Canada is thrilled to share that we have some exciting updates on the way for OVdialogue. These enhancements are designed to strengthen our community and make your experience even better.

Stay tuned for more details, and feel free to share your thoughts below. Let’s make this community even stronger!

Pleural Effusion Drainage (Thoracentesis)

I am new to pleural effusions and pleural effusion drainage. It turns out that I did not require the drainage because the fluid decreased significantly, making it unnecessary for the drainage. But I would like to tell you about my experience for preparation for the drainage procedure at PMH.

There were no pre-procedure instructions (could eat normally) and there were no post-procedure instructions or restrictions (could drive immediately following the procedure).

I arrived at the urgent care unit for the pleural effusion drainage and they asked me to go upstairs for an xray prior to the procedure because the CT scan showing the pleural effusion was over a month ago. I checked in at xray and waited maybe 5 minutes to be called in for the xray. Xrays did not take long and I went back down to the urgent care unit.