Community Connection: Ovarian Cancer Canada is looking for volunteers! Could you help?

OVdialogue – consider joining our team in the role of Peer Support Volunteer. Over a few hours each week, you would be part of a team that helps connect people, support conversations and are thought leaders for OVdialogue. This is your opportunity to give back to those who have/continue to support you through the tough times, share your unique experiences, and help celebrate successes. For more details of what this entails, please reach out to @Mfallis (mfallis@ovariancanada.org).

How does age effect treatments

Options
I will start by saying that I am in my final months of being 69.  When I read the stories people share, their diagnoses and subsequent treatments I wonder how much age plays a part in testing and treatments.  I am a retired nurse and also had the opportunity to be educated in all levels of Palliative Care courses available at that time, including CAPCE. But that was many moons ago, so things change. I have to say that the education in Palliative Care focuses primarily on cancer, although ALS did get mentioned, but that’s a whole different ballgame. I do remember  attending a large conference, and asking the question “ how much does age effect the spending of health care dollars?”  It was a bit un-nerving to ask a large room of doctors that question, but basically the answer was…same treatment and effort for everyone.  At the time I wondered how true that was. By the end of my career as a Community nurse, patients with life- limiting diseases, age did not seem to be a factor….but life extending treatments were not use liberally, except for ‘comfort measures’. Yes, certainly, some diseases are incurable, but I personally feel that testing, scans, and other means of ‘condition update’ are offered very hesitantly and guarded. The other thing I have personally experienced, that when I was admitted to the hospital, I was asked about my DNR wishes were. The first time I