Need Advice on what it is like to live without an omentum

I'm 68, newly diagnosed with ovarian cancer as the primary and peritoneal carcinomatosis as the secondary. I will have 4 chemo treatments, then a complete hysterectomy including removal of  cervix and omentum, then 2 more chemo treatments and maintenance chemo pills. This may give me 3 to 4 years.  I have no knowledge of what living without an omentum entails.  I need information from people who have had theirs removed and how it affects their life.

Comments

• StrongwomanStrongwoman Peer Support Vol
    @blackdot
      I would say you won't notice anything. I have had mine removed. I have heard it described as 'partial' but thought it was 'full". Main point is I can't say I notice anything. I noticed more from the radical hysterectomy and debulking etc than I did anything.  Basically everything finding its new place once removed. I have low grade serous grade 3C primary peritoneal cancer which is treated the same as ovarian. Having the omentum removed hasn't affected my life. Surgical menopause and my recurrence, does affect my life.
      Are they able to do your surgery laproscopically or have to make an incision?
      What is most concerning to you given the information you have received?

• Ovarian is primary, peritoneal carcinomatosis secondary. I'm 68. Full hysterectomy including cervix and omentum.large incision. This may buy me 3 or 4 years. Onviously the first year is hell.
    @blackdot